He Hears Our Prayers and Is Faithful To Answer

Want to share something with you that happened in my life about 30 or so years ago:

During my first marriage, and with 5 children still at home, I lived in a little kind of run down wood framed house in Little Elm, Texas. The house was a little pitiful, but as someone once said about me, “You could make a home out of a shoebox!” So I did!

(The house was so small we all had to sleep in the same bedroom, but it was a much needed provision that God had arranged through a “divine encounter” with an elderly real estate lady. And God worked so many wonderful things between us in a blessed relationship that lasted for over seven years, until the night I went to pick her up for church and when she didn’t respond to my knock at the door, I let myself into her house with a key she had given me, I found she had gone to be with the Lord!)

Anyway, I had turned one small room of the little red house into a ceramic studio and occasionally taught someone how to make something in ceramics or a porcelain doll. It didn’t happen often, but it was a little money earned now and then.

The Mom of one of my daughter’s friends came to make a doll for her little girl’s birthday. As we worked on our project for the next few weeks, I, of course, talked much about the goodness of God and shared a lot of my experiences with her. She listened intently. One day I looked up from what I was doing and there were tears streaming down her face and this is what she said:

“You know… when I first came here I felt so sorry for you. I thought you had absolutely nothing and I have so much! I have a gigantic beautiful house with everything anyone could possibly want; a husband who loves me and would give me anything I could ever ask for; I drive the best of cars; have charge cards for all the top stores and money to burn… but after listening to you over these weeks… I am now sitting here ENVYING you!”

I teared up too and said, “You want to hear something funny… I have been sitting here feeling sorry for you!”

Then we both laughed through the tears! She said she guessed she had thought she never really “needed” God because she had so much. Now she saw so clearly that she wanted to need Him the way I did, so that He would show Himself to her like He had to me. So I took her hands in mine and asked her to pray with me that He would “create a NEED FOR HIM in her life.” She agreed… and we did.

About two or three weeks later I received a phone call. She was sobbing so hard I could hardly make out what she was saying. To sum it up the bottom had dropped out of something important and she was desperate to the point of despair. I listened attentively and then an overwhelming joy filled my heart as God said, “I have answered the prayer… she needs me for this! Remind her…”

I couldn’t help myself… I started laughing and then the phone went silent on the other end. At first she thought I had lost my mind! Then as I told her what God had said she started laughing too… and then the tears started again, but this time they were tears of joy! That was the beginning of an awesome journey for her.

We lost touch after I moved out of Texas, but I know God was faithful to take care of her and reveal His love to her just as she hoped He would. How wonderful is our God? Words cannot even express it! He is so faithful!

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

