The Reward of Obedience

On January 28, 2013, after a long talk (or maybe whiny session) with the Lord about my inability to commit to a workout program that I would actually stick to, the Lord suggested that I make the commitment to Him instead of to the workout. (Wow! Why didn’t I think of that?)

He said if I would also make a commitment to Him to eat healthy, He would help me. No dieting… eating healthy, nutritionally sound meals instead. I was not to weigh myself at all. Why? Because if I lost more weight than I expected I would get careless, and if I lost less than I hoped, I would get discouraged. (He knows me so well!)

I ran across a workout DVD while shopping for something else and, before I even realized what I was doing, tossed it in my cart. (Already had about five others I had tried and didn’t understand why I needed this one, but bought it anyway.) Started it faithfully the very next morning! Cardio and strength training during a “3 Mega Mile” workout. It is so good, and is hard enough that when you are finished you know you have accomplished something. I am stronger, more flexible, feel amazing and I am getting more and more muscle tone every week. I am truly amazed.

Today is April 2, 2013 and I still have not weighed myself, but I have fulfilled, and will continue to fulfill the commitment I made to all the Lord spoke to me that day! Every single day… fully and completely! And I am loving every minute of it, and am overwhelmed at the results of my obedience to Him.

Last week I loaded the trunk of my car with clothes that are now too big for me and took them to the thrift store. Some of them I was trying to get to a size to wear and instead I “skinnied” right past them! I can’t tell you how much weight I have lost… no weighing in is allowed yet, but I will give you just one statistic concerning the effects of eating healthy… I have lost 6 and 1/2 inches off my waist!

I have bought new clothes at the thrift store and spent a lot of time altering those that I didn’t want to part with. I am so thrilled and so very grateful to the Lord for both His instruction and His help. No dieting… just lots of veggies; lots of fruit; small portion of meat (mostly chicken); occassional salad; protein drink after my workout; light yogurt or sugar free pudding; and healthy choice fudgebar as a treat.

Sometimes I just need someone to share with that will celebrate God’s goodness and my blessing with me. Thanks for listening!

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Reward of Obedience

  1. Terra says:

    Congratulations on your weight loss but most of all your commitment to the Lord! This is some really good information to absorb and try. I am simply in awe of the Lord and what we can obtain through OBEDIENCE!!

    Glory to Him!

    ~Terra

Leave a Reply

