A Merry Heart… Good Medicine

        When tough things happen you can react however you want to… really. You can get all worried, frustrated or angry… or you can look for something funny about it! My favorite choice is to use my sense of humor to defuse a situation when I can.

     (Example from a while back:)

         I am usually all about encouraging someone who’s going through a rough time. This day in particular my “funny” took over instead. My son called me and was really in a bad mood.

        He said, “I swear Mom, I am just so tired of the way things have been going on the job. (He does construction.) Nobody ever has anything to say unless it’s discouraging and it’s done nothing but rain all week. I am so fed up.”

        (Can you spell “pity party?”) My response?

        “Well son, I guess you will just have to find yourself a home on the range. You know… one where the deer and the antelope play… and seldom is heard a discouraging word… and the skies are not cloudy all day!”

         Dead silence on the other end of the line… then, somewhat reluctantly… laughter! Cancellation of pity party complete!

        “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine.” (God will give you the words… He said He would… never expected those! High five, God! I love it!)

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

