My Purpose and Commitment

A long time ago, when I first knew the Lord had called me to write, I was sitting under a awesome Bible teacher and was so impressed with his knowledge and ability to teach, that I was a little disheartened about my own abilities. I said within myself, “Oh Lord, I will never be able to teach like that!” His immediate response was, “I want you to write not as one who teaches… but as one who is taught.”

A few years later I read this scripture that, at that time, I didn’t know was in the Word. “The Lord has given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him who is weary. He awakens me morning by morning; He awakens my ear to hear as one being taught. The Lord God has opened my ear; and I was not rebellious, nor did I turn away.” (Isaiah 50: 4,5)

How amazing is that! Hoping with all my heart that this will be the scripture that defines my life forever!

Then I have to add this one: “My heart is overflowing with a good theme; I recite my composition concerning the King; My tongue is as the pen of a ready writer.” (Psalms 45:1)

Then I will finish it off with a quote from Erma Bombeck: “When I stand before God at the end of me life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, ‘I used everything You gave me!'”

So be it!

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

