Free-Falling! Yes! Trusting in Him

Sometimes my life get so busy! Not complaining because it is all God-related and that is what it is all about. I do have to admit that sometimes I am guilty of procrastination. It’s not that I am not doing anything…and, granted, it is all good, because it is God-related. But, and that is a very big “but”… sometimes the choice I make is to do the “easiest” good thing.

God cornered me the other morning and brought a correction. I am grateful for it…and I knew it was deserved and very much right on target. He had spoken to me concerning something He wanted me to do, and I knew it, agreed to it, and was thrilled to be entrusted with it. What was the problem then? I thanked Him for the opportunity, prayed about how to go about it, prepared myself to start it. Sounds good  right? Problem is…I NEVER STARTED IT!

I realized that I was being distracted by a dozen other “good things” and before I knew it, it was Friday and, as usual, I made myself believe “It’s too late in the week to start now…I’ll wait until Monday!” The Lord made me face myself and realize just how many Mondays had come and gone and here I was…still making promises to myself I wasn’t keeping! And, of course, it was so true!

He also showed me how many times when I talk about something I want to accomplish, or some goal I have, I nearly always use the phrase “someday I am going to…” or “someday I want to….” Wow! I did not even realize I did that! Well, guess what..I am running out of  “somedays!”

There are many reasons for procrastination…or so they say. Fear of failure; fear of success; fear of commitment…and multitudes of other reasons. In my case, and this is hard to admit, it is absolute disobedience. This was not a self-initiated assignment…this thing I keep putting off until another Monday…it was a God-initiated and assigned. He has already given me everything I need to carry it out, and lined up enough encouragement, from outside sources, to assure me I am qualified to do it. So, the only thing left to do is repent for being stubborn and disobedient, and get on with it.

So funny…as I sit here writing this, the Lord reminded me that last week I prayed “Lord, I feel like I am standing right on this edge of this…kind of like the edge of a cliff and I am too scared to jump! Can’t You just push me?” I think He just did!

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

