Proofread, People…But then Again…

I have Blogs in a lot of different places but one of my favorites is my Faithwriter’s site. This morning I went on to check to see if there had been any responses to an article I had posted a day or two ago. After checking out my own “stuff,” I decided to read a few contributions made by some of the other writers.

Randomly selected a title and author and it brought up the writer’s bio. He is a pastor. Proceeded to read the poem he had written about his love for his wife, daughters, and grandchildren. Very sweet piece! Well written….except for one thing: He was quoting the scripture from Psalms 127: 3-4 which reads in verse 3:

“Lo, children are the heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward…”

But instead he had written: “…and the fruit of the loom is his reward…”

Now that is either a typo or God just promised us all new underwear! So funny! Sent him a note suggesting he “edit” that particular phrase! But like I said…then again…it was hysterical and started my day off with a good laugh…and every time I think of it, I start all over again!

My point in all this…besides just sharing a good laugh is….PROOFREAD, people. Then proofread again! One typo could change the mood and direction of your whole story…but then again…

(Can’t believe this! As I am sitting here writing this, my husband comes into my office. The windows are open and there is the sound of a chainsaw or something roaring outside. His comment; “I swear it sounds like “yellow-neck country out there!” Took me a minute…then realized he meant “red-neck country!” How crazy it that? Further evidence of the need for proofreading! Even if it’s only in your head!)

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

