Reading It; Believing It; Living It! by Louise Willard

I am a studier; always have been; always will be! Love to learn! It keeps me excited about my life. My mind seems to be getting sharper every day, and that has been a wonderful surprise to me. I will not even entertain the idea that my future has to become full of “senior moments.” I truly believe your mind is almost like a muscle…you need to exercise it. Keep those “neurons” (if that is the right term) firing!

I study a lot of things. With the availability of so much information, thanks to the electronics of today, it is so easy to satisfy a hunger for knowledge…if you are willing to seek it out. Right now I am studying things that will help me be a better writer. All aspects of Social Media; Blogging; Digital Publishing/Ebooks; Branding/Platforms; and of course, style, voice, grammar and anything else I can find that will help me to be the best I can be at what I am trying to do with my life.

But, at the very foundation of all of my studying time, is my favorite thing and what I devote most of my time to…studying the Word of God. I love it! This is the studying that helps me be a better person. From that foundation, I can be better at everything in my life…Wife, mother, friend, neighbor, teacher, and writer, just to name a few.

I love to share what I learn in my studies. I am so encouraged when I see what is in the Word. It is so full of instructions for life, solutions for dealing with the issues that come up, promises, and encouragement! I love knowing that I don’t have to do all this alone. He is with me! He not only tells me what to do, but He helps me understand how to do it. And then, as if that wasn’t already enough, He gives me the strength and faith to do it! How awesome is that?

Here are some of my favorite scriptures…Just a few, and some of what I have learned from them:

Psalms 16: 5, 6, 7, “O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup. You maintain my lot. The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places. Yes, I have a good inheritance. I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; my heart also instructs me in the night seasons.”

(Take what He says to you…both when He speaks to you in the “still small voice” and from His Word; put it in your heart, and when things get tough (the night seasons) what you have put there…the real truth…will rise up; minister to you; and give you what you need to get through.)

Proverbs 19: 21 “There are many plans in a man’s heart. Nevertheless, the Lord’s counsel – that will stand.”

(Make your plans…but keep your heart open so God can change them if He needs to. Only what is according to HIS COUNSEL will stand. Remember the other scripture that says; “Unless the Lord build the house, the laborer labors in vain.”)

Proverbs 16:9, 16, 20 “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” “How much better it is to get wisdom than gold! And understanding is to be chosen rather than silver. “He who heeds the Word wisely will find good, and whosoever trusts in the Lord, happy is he.”

(Knowledge is only “information”; understanding is knowing what that “information” means; but wisdom is how to apply it. It takes all three! You apply yourself to acquire the “knowledge”; seek God to get the “understanding”; submit your heart to be OBEDIENT; and He will give you the “wisdom” you need to walk it out…and to help others do the same. That’s where the “joy of the Lord” comes from…and that, my friend , is your strength!)

Proverbs 15:16 “Better is a little with the fear of the Lord than great treasure with trouble.”

(“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.” and here is some of the wisdom: Proverbs 30: 7-9: “Two things I request of You (Deprive me not before I die) Remove falsehood and lies far from me; Give me neither poverty or riches – feed me with the food alloted to me; lest I be full and deny You, and say. “Who is the Lord?” Or lest I be poor and steal, and profane the name of God.”)

Psalms 4:8 “I will both lie down in peace, and sleep. For You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.”

Psalm 42:8 “The Lord will command His lovingkindness in the daytime. And in the night, His song shall be with me – a prayer to the God of my life.”

AMEN! “Let it be unto me even, as You have spoken.”

About Louise Willard

I am a Christian who loves the Lord and enjoys both studying and teaching the Word of God. My heart's desire is to help others to learn and grow in their knowledge of...and relationship with Him. I am a free-lance writer and hope to use my gifts and talents in that area to be a blessing to others. I have six adult children and 'gobs' of grandkids! I live my life to the fullest everyday, and am so appreciative of the people that the Lord has brought into my life over the years. Life is good...no...it's even better than that...it's amazing!
This entry was posted in Learning About and Living for God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

